services; analyzing implications for Canadian industry, trade and commerce and for tourism of government policies; contributing to the formulation and review of those policies; and compiling information on trends and developments in Canada and abroad related to manufacturing and processing and tourist industries.

The department is organized into eight major functional groups: policy planning, enterprise development, industry and commerce development, international trade relations, trade commissioner service and international marketing, tourism, finance and administration, and human resource planning. The department operates 12 regional offices across Canada and a trade commissioner service which has 89 offices in 65 countries.

The minister also reports to Parliament on behalf of Statistics Canada, the Federal Business Development Bank, and the Export Development Corporation. Boards and other organizations reporting to the minister are the Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, Design Canada, the Standards Council of Canada, the Textile and Clothing Board, Metric Commission Canada, the Foreign Investment Review Agency, the minister's advisory council and the Canadian Footwear and Leather Institute.

Department of Insurance. The minister of finance is responsible for this department, which originated in 1875 as a branch of the finance department but was constituted a separate department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1970, c.I-17). Under the superintendent of insurance, who is the deputy head, the department administers statutes applicable to federally-incorporated insurance, trust, loan and investment companies; provincially-incorporated insurance companies registered with the department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Cooperative Credit Associations Act; pension plans organized and administered for the benefit of persons employed in connection with certain federal works, undertakings and businesses; and life insurance issued to certain members of the public service prior to May 1954.

Under the relevant provincial statutes, the department examines trust and loan companies incorporated in Nova Scotia, trust companies incorporated in New Brunswick and insurance and trust companies incorporated in Manitoba. It reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

Department of Justice (Department of Justice Canada). This department, established by SC 1868, c.39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1970, c.J-2). The minister of justice is the official legal adviser of the Governor General and the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. It is his duty to see that administration of public affairs is in accordance with law, to superintend all matters connected with the administration of justice in Canada that are not within the jurisdiction of the provincial governments, to advise upon the legislation and proceedings of the provincial legislatures, and generally to advise the Crown on all matters of law referred to him by the Crown. The minister of justice is, ex officio, Her Majesty's attorney general of Canada. In this capacity it is his duty to advise the heads of the departments of the federal government on all matters of law connected with such departments, to settle and approve all instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, and to regulate and conduct all litigation for or against the Crown in the right of Canada. The minister also recommends to Cabinet the selection of judges for the Supreme Court and the Federal Court of Canada as well as judges of superior, county and district courts. When amendments to the Judges Act come into force, the justice department will no longer be responsible for the administration of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Canada, or for the administration of the salaries and pensions of other federally-appointed judges. However, the minister will submit the estimates for such courts and judges to Parliament. The minister of justice reports to Parliament for the Tax Review Board and the Law Reform Commission of Canada.

Department of Labour (Labour Canada). The department was established in 1900 by an act of Parliament (SC 1900, c.24) and now operates under the authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1970, c.L-2). The department administers legislation dealing with: fair employment practices; hours of work, minimum wages, annual vacations, holidays with pay, equal wages, group and individual terminations of employment, severance pay and the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour in contracts made with the federal government for construction, remodelling, repair or demolition of any work; government employee compensation, merchant seamen compensation, and employment safety; and transitional assistance benefits for auto workers and adjustment assistance benefits for textile workers and for footwear and tanning workers. It promotes joint consultation with industries through labour management committees and operates a women's bureau. The department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications as well as general information on labour management, employment and manpower.

The Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the minister of labour. The department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian government and the International Labour Organization. The Canada Labour Relations Board reports to Parliament through the minister of labour.

Department of National Defence. The department and the Canadian forces operate under the authority of the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The minister of national defence is responsible for the control and management of the Canadian forces, the Defence Research Board and all matters relating to national